First blog post!

Greetings! I am Scedungangan. Odd name, I know. But I derived it from a word I read in Bernard Cornwell’s Saxon Stories, it is a bastardization of┬ásceadugengan which is Old English for “shadow-walker,” thus my tag-line “Turning the ethereal shadows into ink.”

I am beginning this blog just to have a space to post my ideas, essays, and maybe poems. I am a ponderer and a dreamer. I often spend time pacing around talking to myself about impractical and/or unrealistic ideas. So this is suppose to be a space where my ideas can collect and grow, and so all those hours don’t feel so wasted.

I am a scientist and engineer, though I often ponder about philosophy, ethics, and psychology. My favorite topics range from personality types to physical phenomenon, creation theories to AI philosophy, the future of mankind to the ethics of science. I will try to come up with an organizational paradigm to handle all of it!

For some vague specifics about me: I am in my mid 20’s, I believe I have an INFP personality, I have an IQ of 138, I am a Sagittarius, and I am non-religious. Just to clarify, I’m not an atheist. I believe religions are concerned with coming up with answers about the nature or existence of God or an afterlife, and since none of those are provable in this life I would rather ponder all the ideas freely.

“It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.” is my favorite quote, and it is by Aristotle. My most valued quality is understanding and empathy. It is my goal to be a sage of empathy and compassion. I enjoy meditation as a balance to my ponderings, along with some Buddhist philosophies. I also enjoy the poems of Robert Frost, and Transcendentalist, like Ralph Waldo Emerson.

Well, I hope you have enjoyed my First post ever! ^_^

Leave a Reply

